Multiple choice responses are given for each question below. Eliminating text responses (which could be used to identify respondents) keeps the survey confidential and allows automatic and transparent summary reporting to the landing page.
Please only make one survey response. Duplicates are flagged by the system, but must be manually removed.
Survey results are available at peareports.com
NEW HAMPSHIRE DEFINITIONS
Physical abuse is that involving contact intended to cause fear, pain, injury, other physical suffering or bodily harm.
Emotional abuse is a pattern of behavior that threatens, intimidates, dehumanizes or systematically undermines self-worth.
Sexual harassment includes unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical harassment of a sexual nature in the workplace or learning environment.
Stalking is unwanted or obsessive attention by an individual or group towards another person. Stalking behaviors are related to harassment and intimidation and may include following the victim in person or monitoring them
Rape is not a legal term in New Hampshire. The crime is classified as “Sexual Assault”. There are three levels of sexual assault:
Covers a variety of conduct, including, but not limited to, sexual contact with a person 13 years or older under any of the aggravating circumstances defined in RSA 632-A:2. A person may also be charged with Sexual Assault if they cause another person to engage in sexual contact with the actor or with him/herself, when the actor is in a position of authority over the other person, as defined in the statute. Sexual Assault is a class A misdemeanor punishable by incarceration for up to one year in the House of Corrections.
Felonious Sexual Assault
Includes the offense often referred to as the “statutory rape law,” which involves sexual penetration of a person between the ages of 13 and 16 when the age difference between the actor and the other person is 4 years or more. The legal age of consent in New Hampshire is 16. It also applies when a person is in a position of authority over another and coerces that other person to engage in sexual contact. Felonious Sexual Assault is a class B felony punishable by 3.5 to 7 years in the state prison.
Aggravated Felonious Sexual Assault
Penetration, however slight, into any opening (vagina, mouth or anus) that occurs without the explicit consent of the recipient. Falling under the definition of sexual assault are sexual activities as forced sexual intercourse, forcible sodomy, child molestation, incest, fondling, and attempted rape. When at the time of the sexual assault, the victim indicates by speech or conduct that there is not freely given consent to performance of the sexual act. AFSA is a felony punishable by an enhanced penalty of up to 10 to 20 years in the state prison.
Statute of limitations information
In New Hampshire, the statute of limitations on sexual assault and related offenses when the victim is under 18 yrs old is: within 22 yrs of victim’s 18th birthday (40 years old). However, there are currently bills in the NH Senate to address this. Also, per NH Rev Stat § 625:8 Limitations (VI: a) the statue of limitations stops when “the accused is continuously absent from the state or has no reasonably ascertained place of abode or work within this state…”